Nominees Announced For ACM Awards Newcomer Categories

The Academy of Country Music today announced that Thompson SquareHunter HayesJana KramerLee BriceBrantley Gilbert, and Kacey Musgraves are among the first round of nominees competing to win at the 48th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards, which take place this coming April.

All nominees announced so far are in three of what the ACM calls its “newcomer” categories: New Female Vocalist, New Male Vocalist, and New Vocal Duo or Group. As in years past, all three of these categories will be open to fan voting starting Jan. 21.

The winners of each of these newcomer categories will then compete for the overall New Artist of the Year award, which will be revealed live during the ACM Awards broadcast on April 7. The winners in each category, as well as the overall New Artist of the Year award, are ultimately determined through a combination of fan and professional ACM membership votes.

The three winners from these categories will be announced in February. They will then compete for the ACM New Artist of the Year award. Fan voting for that segment of the competition will take place starting March 25.

Last year’s ACM New Artist of the Year winner was Scotty McCreery.

The full list of nominees for the newcomer categories:

New Female Vocalist
Jana Kramer
Kacey Musgraves
Sunny Sweeney

New Male Vocalist
Lee Brice
Brantley Gilbert
Hunter Hayes

New Vocal Duo Or Group
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

The 48th Academy of Country Music Awards, cohosted by Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan, will be broadcast live on Sunday, April 7 on CBS.

– Kurt Wolff,


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 99.5 WYCD Detroit's Best Country

Little Big Town Drop New Single 'Better Man'The track was produced by Tornado and Pain Killer producer, Jay Joyce and features Karen Fairchild on lead vocals.
Garth Brooks Reveals Details of New Album"The album title came to me when somebody asked me what my favorite thing about being on the road was," says Brooks. "I said, 'It just feels good to be out there being a gunslinger again."

Listen Live